top of page
  • anewtomorrowal

About Our Mission

My name is Mary and I want to tell you a story.


In 2016, I lost almost everything and I spent 7 months living out of my Mazda 2. I had no support group to lean on at the time and the man I was married to was actively trying to kill me. I cannot count the number of nights I went to sleep in my back seat praying I was parked in a "safe" place. With safe meaning that I wasn't going to be rudely awakened and arrested for being homeless in the middle of the night. It was a struggle every day to keep going. I can remember making "soup" with hot water, ketchup packets, and pepper from local restaurants because they would let me have it for free and a lot of days that was all I had. The sad part is I had my job and still could not afford to get into a home. It took 7 months working 40-50 hours a week to save enough to get just to get into a rental.


I was one of the lucky ones though because I eventually found help once I had enough money saved to buy that help. But as a single woman, with no children in her care at that time, that had already escaped her abuser there was no room for me anywhere in the shelters. Even today, I remember every face that turned me away. Every face that told me my situation wasn't priority. Every face that looked at me and judged me unworthy of help. It's a feeling that no one should ever have to face.


You're probably thinking something like 'Ok, but what does that have to do with this fundraiser?


Well, I want to create a place where people can come get the help they need. I want to create a place where people come together to create opportunities for others to help themselves. I want to create a temporary home where people won't have to worry about going hungry or where they'll lay their head tonight. I want to create "A New Tomorrow" for those who have hit rock bottom and need a hand up. I want to create the change I wish to see in this world.


So, let's get into some facts about homelessness in America:


Key Homelessness Statistics and Facts for 2023

Globally, 1.6 billion people live in inadequate housing conditions.


In America, 582,462 individuals are experiencing homelessness, an increase of about 2,000 people since the last complete census conducted in 2020.


Sixty percent of the homeless population finds refuge in sheltered locations (like emergency shelters, safe havens, or transitional housing programs). The other 40% spend nights unsheltered (often on the street, in abandoned buildings, or in other places not designated/suitable for human habitation).


More than a quarter of those experiencing homelessness in 2022 did so as part of a family with children.


In 2022, there were 329,675 beds in emergency shelters across the country available to homeless individuals.


The White House recently introduced a plan to combat homelessness in America in an effort to reduce homelessness by 25% by 2025.


More than 75% of all people experiencing homelessness were adults aged 25 or older (444,041 people).


As of 2018 it was estimated that 26 million people had experienced self-defined homelessness during their lifetimes.


Thirty percent of people without homes experience chronic homelessness, meaning they have been without homes for longer than 12 months or have experienced extended periods of homelessness over the past three years.


The homeless population is particularly susceptible to hate crimes and attacks, with 22 non-lethal and 14 lethal attacks perpetrated on homeless individuals in 2019 alone.


If that doesn't make you want to help then there is probably nothing I can say further that will change your mind, but I'm going to try.


My goal with this fundraiser is to buy an old hotel/motel in NE Alabama and refurbish it into a one of a kind homeless center.


Why a hotel/motel?

Because they already have the set up for most of the services I want to be able to offer. We will be more than just a bed for you to sleep in from night to night.


What services are you talking about?

  • We will provide assistance programs where clients will be able to receive help obtaining their legal documents such as birth certificates, social security cards, ID or License.

  • We will have a clothing closet where they will be able to find appropriate clothing for a wide range of job interviews/jobs and every day life.

  • We will provide transport to Adult Education Classes for those that need it.

  • We will have classes that teach the basic necessities of living again. From cooking and cleaning to planning a budget and setting goals.

  • We will have bimonthly guests that come and teach classes on everything from theology and coping mechanisms for grief to basic trade skills such as textiles and welding.

  • We will provide transport to doctors and therapists for those needing specialized care.

  • We will have an in-house kitchen where lunch and dinner will be served daily.

  • We will provide transportation to local schools for school-aged children.

  • We will offer skill development opportunities so that clients can earn income from items they create and market or services provided.


How will you be different from those that already exist?

  • We will have a set stay limit of 4 months for single clients, 6 month for families with children over 12, and 10 months for families with children 11 and under.

  • We will actively assist clients with interview training and job searches.

  • We will actively assist clients in their search for permanent housing and gainful employment.

  • We will provide long-term support for clients even after their stay with us has ended.

  • We will create multiple in-house jobs where clients can receive real-world experience and training that will aid in life and employment.

  • We will create an abundance of partnership opportunities for local businesses and organizations.


Every penny raised here will go towards supporting our dreams of building a community that helps each other give those in need a hand up, not a hand out. We know there are going to be logistical nightmares and months of hard work to get this up and running but we are committed to this goal and not afraid of doing the work to change the world.


So, will you help us create "A New Tomorrow"?

4 views0 comments
bottom of page